PNR Information
What is PNR?
Railways PNR stands for Passenger Name Record. It's a 10-digit number that gives information about the travel in an Indian Railways train. Whenever you book one train ticket either Online through IRCTC(Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation) website or Offline from Ticket Counter, this number gets generated.
What is PNR status?
PNR status gives information about following:
  • Train Number and Train Name
  • Your seating class type i.e SL/3A/2A/1A/GEN etc.
  • Seat number and the coach number.
  • Departure Station and Arrival Station.
  • It will state at what time you will board the train and when you will reach your destination.
For how many months PNR remains valid?
PNR number remains valid till the journey ends and after 9 months the number gets deleted from railways records.
How can I find PNR number on ticket?
If you have booked online ticket through IRCTC or Ticket Booking sites then PNR number is present under the header PNR number. If you have taken the offline ticket from Railways counter, then the PNR number is present on the top left hand corner of the ticket.
How to Check PNR Status?
First visit Then enter the PNR number in the form and click on the Check Status button to submit the details. Wait for few seconds, then the results page will show the status which can either be CNF/WL/RAC and others.
How can I read the details of an Railways PNR information?
  • WL – Waiting List
  • RAC – Reservation Against Cancellation. In an RAC ticket, the passenger shares the berth with another passenger.
  • CNF – Confirmed Ticket
  • CAN – Cancelled
  • GNWL – General Waitlist
  • TQWL – Tatkal Waitlist
  • PQWL – Pooled Quota Waitlist
  • RLWL – Remote Location Waitlist
  • NOSB – No Seat Berth. This is normally used for child passengers below 12 years of age and this status comes when no seats are assigned for them.